Solved Use Textbox value in a Loop (1 Viewer)

mreniff

Local time
Yesterday, 23:05
I want to nest an update query inside a Do Loop. I am not sure which loop is the best for this.

The user will enter a number in a textbox and then an update will run until the value in the textbook is reached. This Query is to run to select records by checking a box (title is update) in a subform. I would rather have a module that I can use on multiple forms and subforms and not have to create code for each form.

I am picturing some code like this

Private Sub Text27_Afterupdate()
i = Textbox value
Do Until i>[Textbook value] 'Condition is False.Hence loop will be executed

UPDATE Students SET Students.UpdateWorkshop = Yes
WHERE (((Students.UpdateWorkshop)=No) AND ((Students.Major)="BADM" Or (Students.Major)="PBA") AND ((Students.Workshop) Is Null) AND ((Students.Session)=[Forms]![WorkshopsSession]![SessionCombo]));
i = i + 1
Loop
End Sub

I am a newbie to Do Until loops

Attachments

• how many records to select.JPG
    how many records to select.JPG
    112.3 KB · Views: 101

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time
Hi. What is the purpose of the loop? Will you be running the same update query using the same values in each iteration of the loop?

CJ_London

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 07:05
a loop is a loop is a loop. you can use

do until true
loop

while true
wend

for i=1 to 5
next i

not sure if it is a typo but if textbox and textbook are supposed to be the same then your code will only go through one iteration

vba_php

Forum Troll
Local time
Today, 01:05