• ** There has been a recent site upgrade. Please clear your browser cache to avoid issues. **
  • New forum feature - post voting and best solution

    Check out this thread for the details: https://www.access-programmers.co.uk/forums/threads/new-forum-feature-post-voting-and-best-answer.314134/

    This new feature looks great to me! :)

  • We now have 3 forum themes

    Go for the default (light) theme, Shades of Grey or Shades of Blue. I just added the Blue one.

    The thread about it is here: https://www.access-programmers.co.uk/forums/threads/new-forum-theme-shades-of-blue.314136/

VB6 AND ACCESS 2013 (1 Viewer)

QuijoteMx

New member
Local time
Today, 03:07
Joined
Sep 7, 2020
Messages
12
Hi!
I have a very old license of vb6 and a not so old license of access (its 2013) and I'm trying to do a small system whose data is in Access 2013.
I got an 3706 Run time error, not found specified provider.

I wonder if its still possible to do that?

Thanks,

O. Molina
 

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time
Today, 01:07
Joined
Oct 29, 2018
Messages
12,464
Hi. Sounds like you may be using the wrong provider. Do you know which one you're trying to use?
 

QuijoteMx

New member
Local time
Today, 03:07
Joined
Sep 7, 2020
Messages
12
This is the code I'm using to connect to the data base

Set cnn = New ADODB.Connection
With cnn
.Provider = "Microsoft.ACE.OLEDB.12.0"
.ConnectionString = "User ID=Admin;password= ;" & " Data Source=" & App.Path & "\DBCovid19.accdb;"
.CursorLocation = adUseClient
.Open
 

arnelgp

error reading drive A:
Local time
Today, 16:07
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
10,544
Code:
Dim strConn As String
strConn = "Provider=Microsoft.ACE.OLEDB.12.0;" & _
    "Data Source=" & App.Path & "\Covid19.accdb" & ";Persist Security Info=False;"
Set cnn = CreateObject("adodb.connection")
With cnn
    .ConnectionString = strConn
    .Cursorlocation = 3 'adUseClient
    .Open
End With
 

QuijoteMx

New member
Local time
Today, 03:07
Joined
Sep 7, 2020
Messages
12
Thank you for your help, but same result Run Time Error 3706
 

The_Doc_Man

Immoderate Moderator, Former MVP, Retired SysAdmin
Staff member
Local time
Today, 03:07
Joined
Feb 28, 2001
Messages
17,989
There is always the question of how Access was installed. When you install Office, the defaults SHOULD give you the most common providers, but there is no guarantee that the defaults were used. If you still have the installation kit, you can re-install Access and when the kit opens up, you can tell it you are changing the installation options. Then verify that you have OLEDB providers installed. There is also the option to Repair the installation in case a file is missing.

Other than that, got no idea.
 

QuijoteMx

New member
Local time
Today, 03:07
Joined
Sep 7, 2020
Messages
12
By the way, nice description of you. Look you are happy ...
 

QuijoteMx

New member
Local time
Today, 03:07
Joined
Sep 7, 2020
Messages
12
Thank you for your suggestion. I downloaded one of the files and installed it completely, the other was unsuccessful, got an error about my 32 bit office installation. I think it's too much. I'm solving the problem using vba en Excel and could attach the database. It's something different from my original intention but sitll works.

Thank you again ...
 

The_Doc_Man

Immoderate Moderator, Former MVP, Retired SysAdmin
Staff member
Local time
Today, 03:07
Joined
Feb 28, 2001
Messages
17,989
By the way, nice description of you. Look you are happy ...

Thanks, I was happy in that pic. It was a "crop" of a larger picture that included my wife and mother-in-law while we were celebrating M.I.L.'s 80th birthday. She was still mentally alert then. Deceased now, but it was a happy time for all. And then, I still had SOME hair.
 

QuijoteMx

New member
Local time
Today, 03:07
Joined
Sep 7, 2020
Messages
12
Hi Doc!

I beg your pardon. May be I'm being too anoying with my questions.

I have the following code in vba for access. It works well but it needs the intervention
of a user to answer "yes" in every query prior updating the target table.

is there a way to avoid that ...

Private Sub doUpdates()

Dim i As Integer

DoCmd.RunSavedImportExport "Covid19Mexico"
DoCmd.OpenQuery "01 Incorpora los registros de detalle"
DoCmd.OpenQuery "02 Estadística por fecha de Actualización y Estado"
DoCmd.OpenQuery "03 Estadística por fecha de Actualización"

End Sub
 

arnelgp

error reading drive A:
Local time
Today, 16:07
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
10,544
you can add Before those DoCmd's:

DoCmd.SetWarnings False

and reset it afterward:

DoCmd.SetWarnings True
 

Isaac

Lifelong Learner
Local time
Today, 01:07
Joined
Mar 14, 2017
Messages
2,372
Or you can use
Code:
CurrentDb.Execute "name of query",dbFailonError
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom