I can no longer print reports since upgrade to access 2013 (1 Viewer)

awade

Registered User.
Local time
Tomorrow, 00:10
Joined
Apr 21, 2013
Messages
101
Good Evening All,

I have just upgraded to access 2013 from access 2003, and I can no longer print my reports from the form using the command buttons I made.

I have a simple forma with 6 command buttons that each run separate query to produce a report as requested by the user. I have a separate command button that allows the user to print the report once they have generated it, well I used to be able to....

I keep getting a message box with "The OpenReport action was cancelled"

I can open the report with a separate command button, but I can no longer print.

I have deleted all the print command buttons and re made them using the report wizard, but still have no success.

Is there a way I can print the reports using a command button on the form?

Is there a way I can have the report print to any printer that the user is connected to instead of having my printer as the default printer?

Thanks in advance.
 

GinaWhipp

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 10:10
Joined
Jun 21, 2011
Messages
5,899
What is the VBA or Macro steps you are using to print the Reports?
 

awade

Registered User.
Local time
Tomorrow, 00:10
Joined
Apr 21, 2013
Messages
101
This is the code behind the command button.

To produce the code I used the wizard attached to making the command button;
Report Operations,
Print Report,
select report name,
name the button and click finish..

Private Sub Command27_Click()
On Error GoTo Err_Command27_Click
Dim stDocName As String
stDocName = "Margin Watch list Query"
DoCmd.OpenReport stDocName, acNormal
Exit_Command27_Click:
Exit Sub
Err_Command27_Click:
MsgBox Err.Description
Resume Exit_Command27_Click

End Sub
 

awade

Registered User.
Local time
Tomorrow, 00:10
Joined
Apr 21, 2013
Messages
101
Yes the location of the database is in a trusted location, with enable Marcos and active x settings checked without restrictions
 

awade

Registered User.
Local time
Tomorrow, 00:10
Joined
Apr 21, 2013
Messages
101
When I open that database now I get a security warning that "we can't verify who created this file"
When I click yes the database opens ok
 

GinaWhipp

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 10:10
Joined
Jun 21, 2011
Messages
5,899
Umm, never seen that message. Do you get and error message when trying to print? Can you print anything from the database? Do you have a Default Printer set?
 

awade

Registered User.
Local time
Tomorrow, 00:10
Joined
Apr 21, 2013
Messages
101
I have just tried the other print options and none of them work. I have a print button on a few forms and I get a "the PrintOut action was cancelled.
I have not setup access2013.with a default printer.
How do I do that?
I would also like users to be able to print from their default printers
 

GinaWhipp

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 10:10
Joined
Jun 21, 2011
Messages
5,899
If you have a Default Printer set on your machine you should be good with that part of it. You know, might be a silly question, but there is something to print right? Have you confirmed that the Recordsource actually returns records?
 

awade

Registered User.
Local time
Tomorrow, 00:10
Joined
Apr 21, 2013
Messages
101
Yes, the forms are populated with data, and the report runs and displays the selected data, when I hit the print button I get the error message.....very strange.

It all worked fine when I was running access 2003, but since running in access 2013, I have had this issue
 

GinaWhipp

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 10:10
Joined
Jun 21, 2011
Messages
5,899
This reeks of not being in a Trusted Location. What References do you have set?
 

awade

Registered User.
Local time
Tomorrow, 00:10
Joined
Apr 21, 2013
Messages
101
I browsed the location and have the folder and all sub folder locations listed in the trusted sites. I reverted the database back to a 2002-2003 under the default file format and the printing commands buttons work. Would be good though if it worked as a 2013 database
 

GinaWhipp

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 10:10
Joined
Jun 21, 2011
Messages
5,899
Can you upload an sample file because it should work?
 

vargan

New member
Local time
Today, 07:10
Joined
Mar 5, 2015
Messages
7
Upgrade the db from 2003 to 2010 first, then further to 2013.
This is described by Microsoft as the way to upgrade, as some features are deprecated in 2013
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom