Will you upgrade to Windows 10? (1 Viewer)

Will you upgrade to Windows 10

• Total voters

burrina

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 00:43
Will you be upgrading to Windows 10 and if so, why/why not?

pbaldy

Wino Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Yesterday, 22:43
I won't "upgrade" to it, but I may get it on new computers (in other words, I won't switch an existing computer with Win 7 to 10). I buy computers for my employer, and I skipped 8/8.1. I've heard good things about 10, so I'll probably either put a copy on a VM to play with first, or let some poor soul in the office be the guinea pig.

kevlray

Registered User.
Local time
Still running on Windows 7 on my main computer. I still have XP on a older laptop (not enough horsepower for Windows 7). Always hesitant to go to a newer OS until it has been proven to be stable.

Steve R.

Retired
Local time
Today, 01:43
There is an alternative to MS Windows, Linux.

I've been using Ubuntu for several years now and I find to be better than MS Windows. One of the positives of Linux is that it is free. Another, is that Linux is more user friendly (at least for me).

On the downside, some software is "missing" from Linux, MS Access being one such piece of software. There is OpenOffice (LibreOffice) Base which is an equivalent to Access. Like MS Access, the learning curve for Base is very steep. To lesson the shock of using Base, one person has enhanced Base to work more like MS Access.

I terms of myself, since MS Access is not an option, I converted my MS Access magazine database to an HTML/PHP/CSSS format with MySQL. It works! Still needs a bunch of work to make it more user friendly.

Given that most people (in an office environment) principally use a word processor and a spreadsheet, Linux offers a superior and cheaper (free) work environment. There would appear to be little incentive to upgrade to MS Windows 10.

Last edited:

Rx_

Nothing In Moderation
Local time
Yesterday, 23:43